DEPARTURES

I try to update my blog at least once a month so that it doesn’t become stale, but the past few months have been full of departures for me. I departed my place of residence of eight years (an act that took both more time and money than I had thought); another class of seniors concluded their compulsory education and departed to college, the military, or the workforce with much fanfare; my mother-in-law just departed only days ago from the airport after a half-month stay; and today, I am quite happy to announce that I have departed from traditional publishing to the world of independent publishing.

My second novel, “Dire Requisite,” is both a labor of love and an exercise in patience. Written as my dissertation for my MA in English, “Dire Requisite” is available today via Kindle or in print at https://www.createspace.com/3828439 . For those who prefer to get their fictive fix through Barnes and Noble or the local library, you’ll have to wait another 6 to 8 weeks.

Usually departures are seen as sad things, but all of the examples preceding my foray into independent publishing are very positive things, so I have no reason to think this venture will be anything less. I look forward to having direct oversight into any and all marketing expenditures, as well as the knowledge that I maintain full legal rights to my work – not that I envision a Hollywood blockbuster in the near future, but at least I’m free to grab a camera and start making a go of it, should I so please, without infringing on copyright ownership.

There are undoubtedly many questions left unanswered, “why” and “how” and so forth. I’ll be most pleased to entertain any and all inquiries at a later date. But for now, I will depart, leaving you free to explore the link above, or search for the story via Kindle. Feel free to share your thoughts on the story, good or bad, and please, tell your friends about the link and share what you like on Twitter or Facebook. (Hell, spread the link there, for what it’s worth.)

As always, if my tale manages to put a smile on  your face – even for only a moment – then I know no greater joy.

Starting soon: The dissection of a few of the characters from “Dire Requisite” and your chance to weigh in on some of their flaws.

About waronliteracy

Storyteller, teacher, author of "Perfect Solution" and "Dire Requisite," I stand alone in the aftermath of the war on literacy, looking for other survivors ... we are out there ... somewhere.
This entry was posted in FICTION and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to DEPARTURES

  1. Jordan says:

    Thanks for the feedback. It is definitely appreciated. Departures are…unpredictable. I’ve recently had some big ones myself, and even though I knew they were coming and THOUGHT I knew how I felt about them, the emotions are a mess because of them. I’m looking forward to reading more of your material.

  2. miss you mister keay, read this and got a little bit happier, hope you’re doing well

    • Hey Roland! Good to hear from you! Where are you at now? Has the fall term started yet?
      It’s a big adjustment but give it time. I know you’ll do well. Don’t forget to update your blog once in a while. I still follow it.

Leave a Reply

