I am not a phoenix.

Not in any sense of the word – literal, figurative … or even educational for that matter. Not that there’s anything wrong with the university, but I can’t help but think that a phoenix in literature is a bird that rises from the ashes. The university’s commercials make me think that the people featured in them have crashed and burned in their former careers. I know that’s not necessarily so, but that’s what I think nonetheless. Regardless, I am back.

Having bitten off precisely all I could chew this last semester in teaching two courses at the community college as well as my day job at the high school, the ever-present stack of papers to grade and essays to read wrought guilt upon me every time I thought about creative writing. So I won’t be doing that again anytime soon. I’m looking forward to returning to a more normal working schedule and carving out some time to write creatively and continue to query agencies for my manuscript (more on that shortly).

In the works for my readership is a continuation of the teleplay “Carnegie” which lies waiting inked in the pages between the nearly-forgotten covers of my journal. For those who haven’t already found “Carnegie,” there is a new page under the dichromatic  image  above. You can read or reread the teaser to your delight. Also coming soon will be my thoughts on Submishmash, a new online manuscript submission forum for querying publishing houses. Finally, it is time to get back to the craft of writing itself. I will post a few ideas to kick around – feel free to kick them around and comment on them. Charlie and Sick Eddie are on hiatus until further notice. They may return, but they are not phoenixes either; although one could argue that in failing to get representation for their tale they have essentially crashed and burned – but regardless, they will not rise from the ashes.

Finally, please pass this blog on in your tweets and social networking. It would be nice if 2012 held a larger readership for me than I could count on one hand.

Welcome back to my blog – I hope to make it worth your wait.

About waronliteracy

Storyteller, teacher, author of "Perfect Solution" and "Dire Requisite," I stand alone in the aftermath of the war on literacy, looking for other survivors ... we are out there ... somewhere.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

